Thursday, 2 June 2016

Book Review: My Last Love Story by Falguni Kothari

About the Book:


Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’s, Me Before You, My Last Love Story is a heartbreakingly romantic tale about the complexities of trauma and whether love can right a wrong.

I, Simeen Desai, am tired of making lemonade with the lemons life has handed me.
Love is meant to heal wounds.
Love was meant to make my world sparkle and spin.
Love has ripped my life apart and shattered my soul. 
I love my husband, and he loves me.
But Nirvaan is dying.
I love my husband. I want to make him happy.
But he is asking for the impossible. 
I don’t want a baby.
I don’t want to make nice with Zayaan.
I don’t want another chance at another love story. 







Book Links:Goodreads * Amazon US * Amazon IN


My Review:


It is not often that you come across a book whose plot gyrates to touch every human foible possible. This is a story of three people from India, while the setting is abroad. Initially, as you delve into the book, it might seem just another story about Indian immigrants abroad and their struggles of fitting in, while battling conflicts with their culture. This book has so many levels, you could be on the last page and still be peeling through more dimensions added to the plot. This, is partly why the end is what it is, although I do yearn for a little more solidity in the conclusions. Yet, it was in measured exactness real and raw: no cliche, no fantastical unblemished happily-ever-after.



My Last Love Story delivers what it promises: an exploration of the protagonist's love story, as seen from her own eyes, and to contemplate and decide whether it'd be the last. There's so much about this story that is unconventional, that sets it apart, a review wouldn't suffice to enlist it all. The friendship and the trials and tribulations that accompany the friendship of our main characters is so unusual, its conception is a brilliant work of the author's mind. 

Above everything, the story is also a narrative of the difficult decisions one is forced to make in life. There is a tragedy, and then there's you dealing with the tragedy. There's a problem, and then it's your call on how you'll deal with it. To mess it up a notch, add love to the equation. 
The characters face some real tragedies. And the expression has been so real and raw, you almost relate to it. At one point, it is, "I wished that my anxiety could be stripped off as easily as the raincoat."  At another, it is "In my mind, I perpetuated the fantasy we’d once imagined for us because to think about the truth of our situation, about the inoperable metastatic tumor inside my husband’s brain, was anathema to me."

The reading experience has been enriching and productive too, with a rich and steady stream of vocabulary and rich phrases and witticisms. 

No mention could probably end without that inevitable, inexplicable comparison to JoJo Moyes' Me Before You. Here's my verdict: the richness of content in this story, due to its Indian roots far surpasses that of MBY, while I'd yearn for an ending like the one Moyes gave, with a conclusion to the character portrayed ill.



About the Author:









Falguni Kothari is an internationally bestselling hybrid author and an amateur Latin and Ballroom dance silver medalist with a background in Indian Classical dance. She writes in a variety of genres sewn together by the colorful threads of her South Asian heritage and expat experiences. When not writing or dancing, she fools around on all manner of social media, and loves to connect with her readers. My Last Love Story is her fourth novel.







Giveaway





No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Popular Posts